Successes  Volvo Ocean Race 2006  11/06/2006

Volvo Ocean Race 2006

The Volvo Ocean Race, formerly known as the Whitbread Round the World Race, is a yacht race around the world which is held every three years. The race usually takes about eight months to complete. Since its first edition in 1973, the Volvo Ocean Race has grown into one of the three leading yacht races in the world, along with the Vendée Globe (a non-stop round the world solo race) and the Global Challenge (with stops across the globe for amateurs, solo and duo racers).

In 2005, the Volvo Ocean race came to the Netherlands for the first time in its history. Rotterdam not only served as the finish for the eighth leg from Portsmouth, it was also the stunning setting for the last in-port race.


  1. ABN Amro
  2. Pirates of the Caribbean 
  3. Brasil I 
  4. ABN Amro II 
  5. Ericsson Racing Team 
  6. Movistar 
  7. ING Real Estate Brunel

Dutch succes:

The winning boat was ABN AMRO I skippered by Mike Sanderson, a New Zealand sailor competing under the Dutch flag. Dutchman Jan Dekker was one of the crew members.

Media coverage:

The race was accompanied by media coverage from around the world. With all the major media reporting the race, the press centre was packed with over 150 international journalists. The NOS and RTL had the exclusive broadcasting rights for the Netherlands. During the stopover in Rotterdam, the entire national media zoomed in on the event.

Number of overnight stays : + 10.000

Economische Spin-off: over € 50,000 million (with an investment of approx. € 5 million)

Share with
Deze website maakt gebruik van cookies

Wij zijn wettelijk verplicht toestemming te vragen voor het gebruik van cookies. De website maakt gebruik van cookies om de website te analyseren en te optimaliseren. De cookies bewaren geen persoonsgegevens en zijn dus niet aan een individu te koppelen.

Nee, ik geef geen toestemming